FindMyKOL
Clinical trialNCT01345929CompletedPhase 3Interventional

Study Comparing the Safety and Efficacy of Intravenous CXA-201 and Intravenous Levofloxacin in Complicated Urinary Tract Infection, Including Pyelonephritis

SponsorCubist Pharmaceuticals LLC, a subsidiary of Merck & Co., Inc. (Rahway, New Jersey USA)Enrollment558Complicated Urinary Tract InfectionPyelonephritis
View the registry record on ClinicalTrials.gov

Summary

The lay summary the sponsor registered on ClinicalTrials.gov.

This is a Phase 3, multicenter, prospective, randomized, double-blind, double dummy study of CXA 201 IV infusions (1500 mg q8h) versus levofloxacin IV infusions (750 mg qd) for the treatment of adults with a cUTI (including pyelonephritis).

Investigators

The overall officials registered on this study. Names that resolve to a FindMyKOL profile link to it; the rest are shown as registered.

  • Obiamiwe Umeh, M.D., MSc.

    Cubist Pharmaceuticals LLC, a subsidiary of Merck & Co., Inc. (Rahway, New Jersey USA)

    Study Director

A profile link is shown only when the registered name resolves to a person record with a confident, namesake-checked match; ambiguous names stay unlinked.

Sites

76 registered facilities, with the per-site recruitment status where the registry publishes one. ClinicalTrials.gov does not publish per-site enrollment counts.

Brazil
  • Facility name not stated

    Belo Horizonte, Minas Gerais, Brazil

  • Facility name not stated

    Porto Alegre, Rio Grande de Sul, Brazil

  • Facility name not stated

    Joinville, Santa Catarina, Brazil

  • Facility name not stated

    Campinas, São Paulo, Brazil

  • Facility name not stated

    Sao Jose de Rio Preto, São Paulo, Brazil

  • Facility name not stated

    Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

  • Facility name not stated

    São Paulo, Brazil

Colombia
  • Facility name not stated

    Cali, Valle del Cauca Department, Colombia

  • Facility name not stated

    Armenia, Colombia

  • Facility name not stated

    Barranquilla, Colombia

  • Facility name not stated

    Bogotá, Colombia

Estonia
  • Facility name not stated

    Kohtla-Järve, Estonia

  • Facility name not stated

    Tallinn, Estonia

  • Facility name not stated

    Tartu, Estonia

Georgia
  • Facility name not stated

    Tbilisi, Georgia

Germany
  • Facility name not stated

    Giessen, Hesse, Germany

  • Facility name not stated

    Lübeck, Schleswig-Holstein, Germany

Hungary
  • Facility name not stated

    Miskolc, Borsod-Abauj Zemplen county, Hungary

  • Facility name not stated

    Gyor, Budapest, Hungary

  • Facility name not stated

    Szentes, Csongrád megye, Hungary

  • Facility name not stated

    Sopron, Győr-Moson-Sopron, Hungary

  • Facility name not stated

    Salgótarján, Nógrád megye, Hungary

  • Facility name not stated

    Nyíregyháza, Szabolcs-Szatmár-Bereg, Hungary

  • Facility name not stated

    Zalaegerszeg, Zala County, Hungary

  • Facility name not stated

    Budapest, Hungary

  • Facility name not stated

    Tatabánya, Hungary

Israel
  • Facility name not stated

    Kfar Saba, Sharon, Israel

  • Facility name not stated

    Petah Tikva, Teah Tiqwa, Israel

  • Facility name not stated

    Tel HaShomer, Tel Aviv, Israel

  • Facility name not stated

    Haifa, Israel

  • Facility name not stated

    Jerusalem, Israel

  • Facility name not stated

    Safed, Israel

Latvia
  • Facility name not stated

    Daugavpils, Latvia

  • Facility name not stated

    Liepāja, Latvia

  • Facility name not stated

    Riga, Latvia

  • Facility name not stated

    Valmiera, Latvia

  • Facility name not stated

    Ventspills, Latvia

Mexico
  • Facility name not stated

    Guadalajara, Jalisco, Mexico

  • Facility name not stated

    Chihuahua City, Mexico

  • Facility name not stated

    San Luis Potosí City, Mexico

36 more sites on the registry record.ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

Site investigator names are published by ClinicalTrials.gov only while a study recruits, so completed studies list sites without them.

Drugs studied

The drug and biological interventions registered on this study, normalized to their RxNorm ingredient where possible.

Linked drugs open the directory filtered to KOLs working with them.clinicaltrials.gov ↗

Registration & key dates

Registry attributes as recorded on the ClinicalTrials.gov study record.

Start
20 Jun 2011
Primary completion
11 Aug 2013
Completion
4 Sept 2013
Last update posted
25 Oct 2018
Registered enrollment
558
Registry id
NCT01345929

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov, via the CTTI AACT database, data as of 4 Nov 2026. Registry facts are shown as registered by the study sponsor; FindMyKOL does not interpret them.