findmyKOL
Clinical trialNCT02303626CompletedPhase 2/PHASE3Interventional

12-Week Safety and Efficacy Study of BCX4161 as an Oral Prophylaxis Against HAE Attacks

SponsorBioCryst PharmaceuticalsEnrollment110HAEHereditary Angioedema
View the registry record on ClinicalTrials.gov

Summary

The lay summary the sponsor registered on ClinicalTrials.gov.

This study will evaluate the safety and efficacy of an oral treatment, BCX4161, in preventing acute attacks in participants with hereditary angioedema (HAE). Eligible participants will be randomized to receive one of two doses of BCX4161 or placebo for 12 weeks. The study will compare the number of acute attacks in each treatment group, as well as a number of other clinical outcomes, and the safety and tolerability of each dose of BCX4161 compared to placebo.

Investigators

The overall officials registered on this study. Names that resolve to a findmyKOL profile link to it; the rest are shown as registered.

A profile link is shown only when the registered name resolves to a person record with a confident, namesake-checked match; ambiguous names stay unlinked.

Sites

40 registered facilities, with the per-site recruitment status where the registry publishes one. ClinicalTrials.gov does not publish per-site enrollment counts.

Belgium
  • Facility name not stated

    Leuven, Belgium

Canada
  • Facility name not stated

    Ottawa, Canada

France
  • Facility name not stated

    Grenoble, France

  • Facility name not stated

    Lille, France

  • Facility name not stated

    Paris, France

Germany
  • Facility name not stated

    Berlin, Germany

  • Facility name not stated

    Frankfurt, Germany

  • Facility name not stated

    Mörfelden-Walldorf, Germany

Hungary
  • Facility name not stated

    Budapest, Hungary

Italy
  • Facility name not stated

    Milan, Italy

United Kingdom
  • Facility name not stated

    Birmingham, United Kingdom

  • Facility name not stated

    Bristol, United Kingdom

  • Facility name not stated

    Cardiff, United Kingdom

  • Facility name not stated

    London, United Kingdom

  • Facility name not stated

    Manchester, United Kingdom

United States
  • Facility name not stated

    Birmingham, Alabama, United States

  • Facility name not stated

    Scottsdale, Arizona, United States

  • Facility name not stated

    Granada Hills, California, United States

  • Facility name not stated

    San Diego, California, United States

  • Facility name not stated

    San Diego, California, United States

  • Facility name not stated

    Walnut Creek, California, United States

  • Facility name not stated

    Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States

  • Facility name not stated

    Shreveport, Louisiana, United States

  • Facility name not stated

    Chevy Chase, Maryland, United States

  • Facility name not stated

    Boston, Massachusetts, United States

  • Facility name not stated

    Plymouth, Minnesota, United States

  • Facility name not stated

    St Louis, Missouri, United States

  • Facility name not stated

    New York, New York, United States

  • Facility name not stated

    Charlotte, North Carolina, United States

  • Facility name not stated

    Cincinnati, Ohio, United States

  • Facility name not stated

    Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, United States

  • Facility name not stated

    Tulsa, Oklahoma, United States

  • Facility name not stated

    Lake Oswego, Oregon, United States

  • Facility name not stated

    Hershey, Pennsylvania, United States

  • Facility name not stated

    Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States

  • Facility name not stated

    Dallas, Texas, United States

  • Facility name not stated

    Galveston, Texas, United States

  • Facility name not stated

    Fairfax, Virginia, United States

  • Facility name not stated

    Spokane, Washington, United States

  • Facility name not stated

    Tacoma, Washington, United States

Site investigator names are published by ClinicalTrials.gov only while a study recruits, so completed studies list sites without them.

Drugs studied

The drug and biological interventions registered on this study, normalized to their RxNorm ingredient where possible.

BCX4161Placebo
Linked drugs open the directory filtered to KOLs working with them.clinicaltrials.gov ↗

Registration & key dates

Registry attributes as recorded on the ClinicalTrials.gov study record.

Start
17 Dec 2014
Primary completion
31 Jan 2016
Completion
31 Jan 2016
Last update posted
17 Nov 2025
Registered enrollment
110
Registry id
NCT02303626

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov, via the CTTI AACT database, data as of 24 Aug 2026. Registry facts are shown as registered by the study sponsor; findmyKOL does not interpret them.