FindMyKOL
Clinical trialNCT02776800WithdrawnInterventional

Managing Wounds With Allevyn Life in a Home Health Care Environment

SponsorSmith & Nephew, Inc.Enrollment0Wounds and Injuries
View the registry record on ClinicalTrials.gov

Summary

The lay summary the sponsor registered on ClinicalTrials.gov.

When elderly patients need help caring for wounds, physicians may refer patients to home health care providers. The home health provider sees the patient in the patient's home and assists the patient with wound care. Working with the patient's physician, the home health provider will use the appropriate wound covering ("dressing" or "bandage") to cover the wound. The goal of the home health provider is to ensure that the wound stays clean and progresses toward closure. The home health provider will conduct in-home patient visits at appropriate intervals to assess the status of the wound. Extensive resources are required to see patients in their own homes. If a dressing could effectively manage wounds and allow longer time between in-home visits (without affecting patient safety or progress of the wound toward closure), then resources could be saved. Thus, newer dressings are designed for longer wear times, using advanced foam pads and adhesives that help keep the dressing in place. The hypothesis of this study is that the use of Allevyn Life will decrease the number of in-home visits by home health providers without sacrificing patient safety.

Investigators

The overall officials registered on this study. Names that resolve to a FindMyKOL profile link to it; the rest are shown as registered.

A profile link is shown only when the registered name resolves to a person record with a confident, namesake-checked match; ambiguous names stay unlinked.

Sites

3 registered facilities, with the per-site recruitment status where the registry publishes one. ClinicalTrials.gov does not publish per-site enrollment counts.

United States
  • Facility name not stated

    Tustin, California, United States

  • Facility name not stated

    Wichita, Kansas, United States

  • Facility name not stated

    McAllen, Texas, United States

Site investigator names are published by ClinicalTrials.gov only while a study recruits, so completed studies list sites without them.

Drugs studied

No drug or biological interventions are in our data for this study. It may test a procedure, device or behavioral intervention, or the intervention list isn't in our current snapshot. See the registry record ↗. Why? →

Registration & key dates

Registry attributes as recorded on the ClinicalTrials.gov study record.

Start
31 Aug 2016
Primary completion
31 Jul 2017
Completion
31 Oct 2017
Last update posted
9 Feb 2017
Registered enrollment
0
Registry id
NCT02776800

Source: ClinicalTrials.gov, via the CTTI AACT database, data as of 4 Nov 2026. Registry facts are shown as registered by the study sponsor; FindMyKOL does not interpret them.